Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur to feature in Checkatrade Trophy

City, Spurs to feature in Checkatrade Trophy
© SilverHub
Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur will take part in next season's Checkatrade Trophy, while Premier League champions Chelsea also remain in the competition.

Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur have both entered next season's Checkatrade Trophy, while Chelsea have also decided to remain in the competition.

The first staging of the Checkatrade Trophy received a mixed reception from supporters, but the EFL recently made the decision to continue with the tournament for at least another year.

Each club from League One and League Two are involved, while 16 clubs from the Premier League and Championship are also invited to take the number of teams to 64.

City and Spurs are notable additions, while Chelsea, Brighton & Hove Albion, Everton, Leicester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Southampton, Stoke City, Swansea City, West Bromwich Albion and West Ham United will also enter Under-21 sides.

The 2016-17 competition was won by Coventry City, who recorded a 2-1 victory over Oxford United in the final at Wembley Stadium.

Share this article now:
George Thomas of Coventry City U21 in action during the U21 Professional Development League 2 North match between Coventry City U21 and Nottingham Forest U21 at Sixfields Stadium on March 7, 2014 in Northampton, England.
Read Next:
Swansea 'leading race for Coventry starlet'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Premier League
Scottish Premiership
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
Segunda Division
Serie B
Ligue 2
Liga MX
Uruguayan Primera Division
Australian A-League
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Indian I-League
Primeira Liga
Turkish Super Lig

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
1Manchester CityMan City27233179205972
3Manchester UnitedMan Utd27175551193256
5Tottenham HotspurSpurs27157552242852
8Leicester CityLeicester2899104041-136
12Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton28710112637-1131
13West Ham UnitedWest Ham2879123550-1530
14Huddersfield TownHuddersfield2886142548-2330
15Newcastle UnitedNewcastle2878132738-1129
17Crystal Palace2769122542-1727
18Swansea CitySwansea2876152141-2027
19Stoke CityStoke2868142854-2626
20West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom28311142242-2020
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account