Dundee United chairman resigns from SPFL board over points deduction

Dundee Utd chairman resigns from SPFL board
© Getty Images
Dundee United chairman Stephen Thompson resigns from the SPFL board after his club were deducted three points for fielding ineligible players.

Dundee United chairman Stephen Thompson has announced his resignation from the Scottish Professional Football League board after his club were deducted three points.

The Terrors, who have been relegated from the Premiership, were punished by the governing body after fielding ineligible players Jamie Robson and Alistair Coote in last Friday's match against Inverness Caledonian Thistle.

Robson was an unused substitute, while Coote came off the bench in the 76th minute of the game, which ended in a 3-2 victory for United.

As a result of breaching SPFL rules, the club were docked three points of their overall total this season and hit with a £30,000 fine, which has been partially suspended.

In response, the club confirmed that Thompson has stepped down from his position on the SPFL board. A statement via the club's official website read: "[Thompson] has expressed his shock and anger at the severity of the sanction imposed by the SPFL in relation to a rule breach in our recent Ladbrokes Premiership fixture versus Inverness Caley Thistle.

"Whilst acknowledging the club's error and accepting a breach of rules occurred, the chairman feels the gravity of the punishment is wholly disproportionate for what was a simple honest, human error. We await the full written judgment after which we will consider our next action.

"Our travelling fans are the ones who have been punished the most here and the club will examine ways to make this up to them."

United won just seven of their 37 games this season.

General view of Tannadice Park Dundee taken prior to the SPL match from between Dundee United and Dundee, Tannadice Park Dundee on August 19, 2012
Read Next:
Dundee United to release eight players
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Dundee UnitedDundee Utd138231712526
2St Mirren127232417723
4Dunfermline AthleticDunfermline1263326121421
5Queen of the SouthQotS126332114721
6Greenock MortonMorton124441614216
7Inverness Caledonian ThistleInverness123451316-313
10Brechin CityBrechin120210825-172