Dec 7, 2013 at 3pm UK at ​The Den
WiganWigan Athletic
Morison (2'), Easter (83')
Keogh (90')
FT(HT: 1-0)
McCarthur (84')
Crainey (57')

Result: Millwall beat Uwe Rosler's Wigan Athletic

Result: Millwall overcome Wigan
© Getty Images
Goals from Steve Morison and Jermaine Easter give Millwall a 2-1 victory over Wigan Athletic at The Den.

Millwall survived a late Wigan Athletic onslaught to cling onto a 2-1 victory over Uwe Rosler's new side at The Den this afternoon.

The home side took the lead in the second minute when Steve Morison reacted quickest to lash the ball home following a goalmouth scramble.

David Forde had to be alert to keep his team's lead intact, as he turned away shots from James McClean and Emerson Boyce within seconds of one another.

Wigan almost went two goals behind when they only half-cleared a corner to Martyn Woolford, who controlled the ball on the edge of the area and drove past two defenders before seeing his effort come flying back off the inside of the post.

After the break, Ben Watson had the chance to draw his side level following a quick Wigan break, but the midfielder blazed his effort over the bar from 18 yards.

Callum McManaman replaced Nick Powell as Wigan looked for a way back into the contest, and Stephen Crainey saw his free kick drop just over the bar from 20 yards with 10 minutes remaining.

Substitute Jermaine Easter doubled the home side's lead with seven minutes remaining after collecting Liam Trotter's defence-splitting pass, but the two-goal deficit lasted less than sixty seconds.

James McCarthur drove a smart finish beyond the reach of Forde to set up a nervy finale for the Lions, but the hosts held on to secure a win.

General view of the exterior of The Den before the Sky Bet Championship match between Millwall and Yeovil Town at The Den on August 03, 2013
Read Next:
Half-Time Report: Morison gives Millwall early lead
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Wolverhampton WanderersWolves1282221111026
2Cardiff CityCardiff127321710724
3Sheffield UnitedSheff Utd128041610624
4Bristol City125612011921
5Preston North EndPreston12561158721
6Leeds UnitedLeeds126241812620
7Aston Villa125431712519
8Norwich CityNorwich125431214-219
10Ipswich TownIpswich116052017318
12Sheffield WednesdaySheff Weds124441614216
13Derby CountyDerby114431513216
14Nottingham ForestNott'm Forest125071521-615
15Queens Park RangersQPR123541516-114
16Hull City123452320313
21Birmingham CityBirmingham12327819-1111
22Burton Albion12246623-1710
24Bolton WanderersBolton12129623-175