Mignolet was adjudged to have fouled Jamie Vardy during the closing stages, with the ball initially being won before contact was made with the Foxes frontman.
However, Mignolet has suggested that saving Vardy's effort from 12 yards was justice by insisting that a foul would not have been given had another player made the challenge.
"The penalty was not a penalty, I touched the ball and he ran into me," the 29-year-old is quoted as saying by the Liverpool Echo.
"It's a coming-together which is normal, I just don't think it's a penalty. I told the ref I got the ball. I wasn't in any doubt, I knew it.
"If an outfield player had made that challenge then nobody would speak about it. I thought it was clear. The ball didn't go anywhere, it stayed there because I had touched it. I got there first."
Liverpool sit in fifth place in the Premier League table after holding out for victory at the King Power Stadium.