Feyenoord win first Eredivisie title in 18 years after holding off Ajax

Feyenoord win first title in 18 years
© Getty Images
Feyenoord beat Heracles 3-1 at De Kuip to seal the Eredivisie title, despite Ajax's best efforts elsewhere on the final day.

Dirk Kuyt netted a hat-trick to help Feyenoord to a 3-1 win over Heracles this afternoon, making sure of their first Eredivisie title success since 1999.

The Rotterdam club squandered the chance to get the job done last weekend when suffering a shock 3-0 loss at Excelsior, leaving the door open for Ajax to pounce in the concluding round of matches.

There was to be no final-day nerves for Feyenoord, however, as Kuyt netted three times - the first arriving just 38 seconds in after a defensive error - to seal the title triumph.

Europa League finalists Ajax did all they could, beating Willem II 3-1 with the youngest starting lineup ever fielded in a Eredivisie match - an average age of just 20 years and 139 days.

Feyenoord will feel that justice was done on the back of their surprise result last weekend, having topped the table for the entire duration of the season.

Paul Pogba in action for Manchester United on August 19, 2016
Read Next:
Dirk Kuyt reveals Paul Pogba frustration
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Champions League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Championship
MLS Playoffs
1PSV EindhovenPSV12110138132533
4PEC Zwolle126421711622
5FC Utrecht126242022-220
9ADO Den HaagADO Den Haag125251516-117
10SBV Excelsior125251517-217
14Sparta RotterdamSparta122551019-911
15Willem II123181527-1210
16FC Twente123091623-79
17NAC BredaNAC Breda122371127-169
18Roda JC12219923-147