Result: Swansea City win Capital One Cup

Swansea City become the first Welsh club to win a major English trophy since 1927 as they beat Bradford City 5-0 in the Capital One Cup final at Wembley.

Swansea City have become the first Welsh club to win a major English trophy since 1927.

Swansea players congratulate Nathan Dyer after his goal against Bradford on February 24, 2013© PA Photos

The Swans completely dominated the Capital One Cup final against League Two side Bradford City, who had to play the last half an hour at Wembley with 10 men and lost the contest 5-0.

Nathan Dyer gave the Premier League outfit a deserved lead on 16 minutes, when he tapped home from close range, after goalkeeper Matt Duke had failed to hold Michu's low effort from the edge of the area.

Michu made it 2-0 with his 19th goal of the season five minutes before the break.

The Spaniard collected Pablo Hernandez's clever pass, before turning Carl McHugh and poking the ball into the corner of the net from 16 yards.

Swansea striker Michu scores the second goal against Bradford on February 24, 2013© PA Photos

Dyer doubled his tally early in the second half.

The former Southampton winger played a neat one-two with Wayne Routledge before producing a crisp left-foot finish that gave Duke no chance.

Swansea's Nathan Dyer makes it 3-0 against Bradford on February 24, 2013© PA Photos

Duke was dismissed just before the hour mark for a clumsy foul on Jonathan de Guzman inside the penalty area.

De Guzman and Dyer, who was on the verge becoming the first ever player to score a hat-trick in a League Cup final, then squabbled over who should take the spot kick.

Swansea players Nathan Dyer and Jonathan de Guzman discuss who is to take the penalty after one is awarded in the game with Bradford on February 24, 2013© PA Photos

The Dutch international won the argument and converted with expert precision.

De Guzman scored again in stoppage time to make it 5-0, which set a new record for the biggest margin of victory in a League Cup final.

Swansea will compete in the Europa League next season.

Swansea's Michu celebrates his goal against Bradford with Ben Davies on February 24, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Bradford City 0-5 Swansea City - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

1Wigan AthleticWigan26176350123857
2Shrewsbury TownShrewsbury26166434181654
3Blackburn RoversBlackburn26157448242452
4Scunthorpe UnitedScunthorpe27148538231550
5Bradford CityBradford2715394336748
6Charlton AthleticCharlton2712783432243
8Rotherham UnitedRotherham27125104536941
9Peterborough UnitedPeterborough2711794337640
10Oxford UnitedOxford Utd28108104341238
11Fleetwood Town27106113841-336
12Doncaster RoversDoncaster2798103029135
13Plymouth ArgylePlymouth2898113035-535
17Bristol Rovers27103143643-733
18Southend UnitedSouthend2887133247-1531
19MK Dons2779112838-1030
20Oldham AthleticOldham2878134050-1029
21Northampton TownNorthampton2885152548-2329
22AFC Wimbledon2677122231-928
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account