MX23RW : Friday, June 14 02:36:04| >> :120:4581:4581:

Real Madrid to use Martin Odegaard as Luka Modric replacement?

Real Madrid reportedly intend to promote Martin Odegaard to the first-team squad next season after identifying the Norwegian as a replacement for Luka Modric.

Real Madrid have reportedly identified Martin Odegaard as the long-term replacement for Luka Modric.

During the summer, Real allowed Odegaard to pen a season-long loan deal with Real Sociedad, holding the option to keep the Norwegian at the same club for a further 12 months.

However, having contributed four goals and five assists in 20 La Liga appearances, the 21-year-old is expected to return to the Bernabeu next season.

According to Marca, Los Blancos view the playmaker as the successor to Modric, who could be allowed to leave later in 2020.

With a need to reduce their wage bill, it would seemingly make financial sense for Real to use Odegaard over veteran Modric during the next campaign.

Modric, who turns 35 years of age in September and has less than 18 months less on his contract, has made 16 starts and 10 substitute outings this season.

ID:390375: cacheID:390375:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:1862:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane on December 18, 2019
Read Next:
Zinedine Zidane: 'No need to change anything despite Real Sociedad defeat'
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 14
 
8pm
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tables header RHS

Group A

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Germany Germany00000
2 Hungary Hungary00000
3 Scotland flag Scotland00000
4 Switzerland Switzerland00000

Group B

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Albania national flag Albania00000
2 Croatia Croatia00000
3 Italy Italy00000
4 Spain Spain00000

Group C

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Denmark Denmark00000
2 England flag England00000
3 Serbia Serbia00000
4 Slovenia Slovenia00000

Group D

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Austria Austria00000
2 France France00000
3 Netherlands Netherlands00000
4 Poland Poland00000

Group E

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Belgium Belgium00000
2 Romania Romania00000
3 Slovakia Slovakia00000
4 Ukraine Ukraine00000

Group F

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Czech Republic Czech Republic00000
2 Georgia Georgia00000
3 Portugal Portugal00000
4 Turkey Turkey00000


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!