MX23RW : Wednesday, October 28 09:08:30| >> :60:1709:1709:

Sir Alex Ferguson wins LMA Manager Award

Ferguson wins LMA Manager Award
© PA Photos
Outgoing Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is named LMA Manager of the Year at an awards ceremony in London.

Sir Alex Ferguson was named as the Premier League Manager of the Year by the League Managers' Association at an awards ceremony last night.

Ferguson picked up the prize after guiding Manchester United to their 20th Premier League crown in his final season in charge.

The 73-year-old was presented with the award by West Ham United boss Sam Allardyce in London and admitted that he felt a sense of relief after finishing his 26-year tenure at United with a 5-5 draw with West Bromwich Albion last weekend

Ferguson said: "It has been overwhelming. The club have been fantastic and congratulations to West Brom with how they handled yesterday.

"In a way I'm glad it's all over because it has been hard work. West Brom manager Steve Clarke should get an award because anyone who scores five against United deserves it."

Ferguson's successor at Old Trafford David Moyes finished as runners-up after coming second in the LMA Vote, while Cardiff City manager Malky Mackay picked up the equivalent Championship award.

Wigan Athletic boss Roberto Martinez also collected a special award following his FA Cup success this season.


Click here for more stories about Alex Ferguson

Click here for more stories about Manchester United

Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Wayne Rooney poses with the Premier League trophy
Read Next:
Report: Moyes plans to keep Rooney
Latest Sports Video
Sports Mole Logo
Enter your email address to subscribe to Sports Mole's free match previews newsletter! Updates are sent twice a week.