MX23RW : Monday, November 30 05:00:20| >> :120:27084:27084:

On this day: Wimbledon's 'Crazy Gang' stun Liverpool in FA Cup final

On this day: Wimbledon's 'Crazy Gang' stun Liverpool in FA Cup final
© Reuters
Lawrie Sanchez headed the winner when Wimbledon won the FA Cup.

On this day in 1988 Wimbledon completed one of the greatest FA Cup shocks when they beat Liverpool 1-0 at Wembley.

Here, the PA news agency looks at the Crazy Gang's finest moment.

The Cup runs

Portsmouth v Liverpool – Barclays League Division One – Fratton Park
Liverpool's John Aldridge scored twice in the Reds' FA Cup semi-final win over Nottingham Forest. (PA)

Wimbledon had just completed their second season in the First Division and had only been in the Football League for 11 years.

They beat West Brom, Mansfield, Newcastle, Watford and Luton to reach the final.

Liverpool saw off Stoke – after a replay – Aston Villa, Everton, Manchester City and Nottingham Forest.

The build up

Dave Beasant
Wimbledon goalkeeper Dave Beasant made history in spectacular style (PA)

Liverpool had just wrapped up their 17th league title while Wimbledon had finished a very respectable seventh, although 33 points behind the Reds.

They had been playing in the Southern Football League in the 1970s and were 17-1 to win the trophy.

The game

Wimbledon v Liverpool
Sanchez celebrates his goal against Liverpool. (PA)

Lawrie Sanchez gave Wimbledon the lead in the 37th minute when he glanced in Dennis Wise's free kick.

Liverpool had a goal disallowed when Peter Beardsley's effort was ruled out before they were awarded a penalty after an hour when Clive Goodyear fouled John Aldridge.

Dave Beasant became the first goalkeeper to save a penalty in the FA Cup final when he palmed away Aldridge's effort.

At the final whistle BBC commentator John Motson exclaimed: "The Crazy Gang have beaten the Culture Club."

The legacy

On This Day in 2006: Liverpool leave it late against West Ham in FA Cup final
Liverpool have not won the FA Cup since 2006. (Nick Potts/PA)

Wimbledon moved to Milton Keynes in 2002 – eventually changing names to MK Dons – with AFC Wimbledon founded that summer and rising through the leagues until they reached the Football League in 2011.

They have both been battling relegation from Sky Bet League One this season.

Liverpool have won the FA Cup just three times since, in 1992, 2001 and 2006.

Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger watches on during a Premier League clash with Huddersfield Town on May 13, 2018
Read Next:
Arsene Wenger's all-time Arsenal XI
Latest Sports Video
Sports Mole Logo
Enter your email address to subscribe to Sports Mole's free daily transfer newsletter! Sent twice a day during the transfer window.

rhs 2.0
Todays Game Header Right
1Tottenham HotspurSpurs106312191221
4Leicester CityLeicester96031812618
6Wolverhampton WanderersWolves105231111017
8Manchester UnitedMan Utd95131616016
9Aston Villa85031911815
10Manchester CityMan City94321511415
11West Ham UnitedWest Ham94231510514
12Leeds UnitedLeeds104241517-214
13Newcastle UnitedNewcastle104241215-314
15Crystal Palace104151215-313
16Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton102441416-210
17West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom10136718-116
20Sheffield UnitedSheff Utd10019416-121

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!