Joachim Low decides against Ballon d'Or vote

Joachim Low decides not to vote in this year's Ballon d'Or.

Germany head coach Joachim Low has opted not to vote for the winner of the Ballon d'Or this year because of the public revelation of each vote, the German FA have revealed.

Low has five of his international players up for the award, but the coach does not want to be seen selecting between Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Thomas Muller or Mesut Ozil.

"He is not able to vote in an impartial manner and therefore has decided to abstain," DFB spokesman Jens Gritter told Bild.

"On the one hand, it is an honour for German football to have five candidates among the shortlist but, as FIFA publishes the votes, that is something which puts the coach in a predicament."

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Franck Ribery are believed to be the frontrunners for the award.

Germany's Per Mertesacker is congratulated by teammates after scoring the opening goal against England during their international friendly match on November 19, 2013
Read Next:
Low 'quietly confident of 2014 success'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

1Manchester CityMan City23202167175062
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd23155348163250
5Tottenham HotspurSpurs23135546212544
8Leicester CityLeicester238783432231
11West Ham UnitedWest Ham2367102941-1225
12Crystal Palace2367102133-1225
14Huddersfield TownHuddersfield2366111939-2024
15Newcastle UnitedNewcastle2365122131-1023
16Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton2358101729-1223
18Stoke CityStoke2355132350-2720
19West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom23310101830-1219
20Swansea CitySwansea2345141435-2117
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account