All Africa Cup of Nations quarter-finals relocated to Bata, Malabo

AFCON quarters relocated
© Getty Images
The CAF announces that all four Africa Cup of Nations quarter-finals will take place in either Bata or Malabo.

The Confederation of African Football has announced that all four Africa Cup of Nations quarter-finals will be played in either Bata or Malabo.

Two of the four last-eight ties were due to take place there, but now the other two that were supposed to be played in Ebebiyin and Mongomo have been relocated.

The CAF made the decision because of "wear and tear" on the newly-laid surfaces in Ebebiyin and Mongomo and adverse weather conditions in Equatorial Guinea.

A statement read: "The CAF executive committee feels that the eight teams qualified for the quarter-final stages onwards should be given the opportunity to play on grounds that provide the highest standards, specifically those of Bata and Malabo, to ensure the quality of play remains at the highest possible level."

Four of the eight quarter-finalists have been decided so far, with Congo, Congo DR, Tunisia and hosts Equatorial Guinea through. The remaining two quarter-finals will be decided tonight and tomorrow.

New Africa Cup of Nations quarter-final fixture list

Congo vs. Congo DR (Bata, 6pm UK time)
Tunisia vs. Equatorial Guinea (Bata, 9.30pm UK time)
Group C winner vs. Group D runner-up (Malabo, 6pm UK time)
Group D winner vs. Group C runner-up (Malabo, 9.30pm UK time)

Gabon's Malick Evouna celebrates with teammate Fredeic Wagha after scoring a goal during the 2015 African Cup of Nations group A football match between Burkina Faso and Gabon at Bata Stadium in Bata on January 17, 2015
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Gabon 0-2 Equatorial Guinea - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Champions League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Championship
MLS Playoffs
1Manchester CityMan City1211104073334
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd128222762126
4Tottenham HotspurSpurs127232091123
9Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton124441313016
10Huddersfield TownHuddersfield12435817-915
11Newcastle UnitedNewcastle124261114-314
12Leicester CityLeicester123451618-213
15Stoke CityStoke123451524-913
17West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom12246918-910
18West Ham UnitedWest Ham122371125-149
19Swansea CitySwansea12228715-88
20Crystal Palace12129624-185