Dundee United to release eight players

Dundee United to release eight players
© Getty Images
Dundee United announce that they will release eight players at the end of the season following their relegation from the Scottish Premiership.

Dundee United have announced that eight players will be released by the club at the end of the season.

The Tannadice outfit were relegated from the Scottish Premiership on Monday following a 2-1 defeat at the hands of local rivals Dundee, leaving them 11 points adrift of possible safety with only three games remaining.

Manager Mixu Paatelainen has already left the club following the relegation, and he will be joined by a host of players as chairman Stephen Thompson looks to cut costs ahead of life in the Scottish Championship.

"Following the club's relegation from the Ladbrokes Premiership chairman Stephen Thompson met with the entire first team squad, taking the first steps towards next season and life in the Ladbrokes Championship," read a statement from the club.

"The under noted out-of-contract players will not be offered new contracts. Edward Ofere, Callum Morris, Guy Demel, Ryan Dow, John Rankin, Euan Spark, Joe McGovern and Florent Sinama Pongolle will leave the club at the end of the season."

Thompson added: "I have had to explain the harsh realities of relegation to the squad. I spoke to them about cost-cutting measures.

"It was not a pleasant thing to have to do, but it was better to do it face to face with them. John Rankin was there in his SPFA capacity and was very good about things. He was a great help."

The Terrors will take on Inverness Caledonian Thistle in their next match as they look to end a run of four straight defeats.

Finland's national team's head coach Mixu Paatelainen is pictured prior to the UEFA 2016 European Championship qualifying round Group F football match Hungary vs Finland at the Groupama Arena stadium in Budapest on November 14, 2014
Read Next:
Paatelainen 'to lose Dundee Utd job'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Dundee UnitedDundee Utd138231712526
2St Mirren127232417723
4Dunfermline AthleticDunfermline1263326121421
5Queen of the SouthQotS126332114721
6Greenock MortonMorton124441614216
7Inverness Caledonian ThistleInverness123451316-313
10Brechin CityBrechin120210825-172