MX23RW : Friday, July 30 11:52:32| >> :60:2380:2380:

Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante named PFA Player of the Year for 2016-17

N'Golo Kante named PFA Player of the Year
© SilverHub
Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante is named the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Player of the Year for the 2016-17 season.

N'Golo Kante has won the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award for 2016-17.

The Chelsea midfielder beat Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Alexis Sanchez in the vote by his fellow players at Sunday night's ceremony at the Grosvenor Hotel in London.

Kante was key to Leicester City's surprise Premier League win last year and, should Chelsea triumph this season, he would become the first player to win successive titles with different clubs.

The 26-year-old, who is only in his second season in English football after joining Leicester from Caen in 2015, also helped France reach the final of Euro 2016 on home soil.

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Dele Alli won the Young Player of the Year award for the second season in a row, while former England captain David Beckham received the PFA's Merit award for his contribution to the game.

Manchester City's Lucy Bronze won the Women's Player of the Year award, while Birmingham City's Jess Carter was named Women's Young Player of the Year.

ID:296660: cacheID:296660:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:2984:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane in action during the North London derby at the Emirates Stadium on November 6, 2016
Read Next:
Kane: 'Spurs were the better team'

rhs 2.0
Olympic medal table header
CountryGold medalSilver MedalBronze MedalT
United StatesUnited States14161141
Olympics flagOlympic Athletes from Russia10141034
Great BritainGreat Britain69924
Today's Olympic highlights header

Friday's key events

· The athletics schedule begins, with 100m sprinter Dina Asher-Smith among the names in action on the opening day. The men's 10,000m final concludes the action, with Team GB's Sam Atkin and Marc Scott taking part in the absence of 2012 and 2016 champion Sir Mo Farah (1am-2.30pm)

· Victoria Thornley is Team GB's representative in the women's single sculls final (1.33am)
· Great Britain will be going for gold in the men's eight final (2.25am)

· Team GB duo Molly Renshaw and Abbie Wood take part in the women's 200m breaststroke final, but new Olympic record-holder Tatjana Schoenmaker of South Africa is the hot favourite (2.41am)
· Luke Greenbank has very realistic ambitions of picking up a medal in the men's 200m backstroke final (2.50am)
· There is also British representation in the women's 100m freestyle final, although any medal for Anna Hopkin would be a surprise (2.59am)
· With one gold and one silver already under his belt at these Games, Duncan Scott goes again in the men's 200m individual medley final (3.16am)

· Bryony Page will be looking to repeat her 2016 heroics in the women's event (5am-7.30pm)

· Bradley Forbes-Cryans will be looking to emulate Rio gold medallist Joe Clarke in the men's kayak event (6am-9am)

· The women's tournament enters the quarter-finals, with Great Britain facing Australia at the Ibaraki Kashima Stadium (10am)

> Today's schedule in full
Todays Game Header Right

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!