Teams announced for 2017 Emirates Cup

Teams announced for 2017 Emirates Cup
© Getty Images
Sevilla, Benfica and RB Leipzig will join Arsenal in competing in the Emirates Cup in North London in July.

Arsenal have revealed the teams that will compete in the Emirates Cup in July.

The pre-season friendly tournament takes place at the North London outfit's Emirates Stadium, and it has been announced that teams from Spain, Portugal and Germany will feature on July 29 and 30.

Sevilla will represent La Liga, Benfica will travel over from Portugal and RB Leipzig will mark their rise to prominence in Germany's top flight by joining the three European heavyweights.

Chief executive Ivan Gazidis is quoted by the Evening Standard as saying: "We're all delighted to once again be hosting the Emirates Cup this summer. Every year we have staged the competition, the Emirates Cup has been hugely successful and a thoroughly enjoyable weekend of football.

"Benfica, Sevilla and Leipzig are three strong clubs, with good players, who will not only hopefully produce some exciting football, but also provide us with high quality preparation ahead of the new season."

Arsenal have won the competition on four occasions since it was created in 2007.

Idrissa Gueye in action for Everton on September 30, 2016
Read Next:
Arsenal lining up summer move for Gueye?
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

EFL Trophy
League One
Copa del Rey
Scottish Premiership
Serie A
Belgian Pro League
National League
Serie B
1Manchester CityMan City98103242825
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd96212241820
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs96211961320
7Newcastle UnitedNewcastle9423108214
11Huddersfield TownHuddersfield9333710-312
12Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton9324910-111
13West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom9243710-310
14Leicester CityLeicester92341214-29
15Swansea CitySwansea9225610-48
16West Ham UnitedWest Ham9225817-98
17Stoke CityStoke92251020-108
20Crystal Palace9108219-173