Apr 23, 2014 at 7.45pm UK at ​Estadio Santiago Bernabeu
Real Madrid
Bayern Munich
Benzema (19')
Isco (57')
FT(HT: 1-0)

Real Madrid must partially close Bernabeu after fans' racist behaviour

A general view during the La Liga match between Real Madrid and Real Zaragoza at Estadio Santiago Bernabeu on April 30, 2011
© Getty Images
Real Madrid must close parts of the Bernabeu for one match as UEFA charged the club after some of their supporters were found guilty of racist behaviour in April.

Real Madrid have been told by UEFA that they must close parts of the Bernabeu for one European game after their supporters were found guilty of racist behaviour in April.

The incident occurred during Madrid's 1-0 victory over Bayern Munich in the Champions League semi-finals, and the misdemeanour has resulted in two sections of their home ground being closed for their opening game in next season's competition.

A UEFA statement read: "The UEFA Control and Disciplinary Body has handed down sanctions to Real Madrid following incidents during their Champions League semi-final first leg against Bayern Munichen in the Spanish capital on April 23.

"Following the charge of racist behaviour by Real Madrid supporters during the match (Article 14 of the UEFA Disciplinary Regulations), the Control and Disciplinary Body has ordered the partial closure of the Santiago Bernabeu for one match. More specifically, sectors 120 and 122 of the stadium will be closed for the club's next UEFA competition home game.

"Real Madrid are obliged to display a banner with the wording 'No to Racism' in those sectors."

Real Madrid won their first Champions League trophy for 12 years after recording a 4-1 success over Atletico Madrid in the final last weekend.

Former Champions League winners Fernando Morientes and Luis Garcia at the Heineken Ibiza Final on May 24, 2014
Read Next:
Diary: SM at the Heineken Ibiza Final
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Real Madrid11003033
3Real Sociedad11003213
8Atletico MadridAtletico10102201
12Athletic Bilbao10100001
14Celta Vigo100123-10
16Las PalmasLas Palmas100101-10
19Real Betis100102-20
20Deportivo La CorunaDeportivo100103-30