Jun 29, 2014 at 5pm UK at ​Estadio Castelao, Fortaleza
Sneijder (88'), Huntelaar (90' pen.)
FT(HT: 0-0)
dos Santos (48')
Aguilar (69'), Marquez (90'), Guardado (90')

Miguel Herrera slams referee, Arjen Robben

Miguel Herrera blames referee Pedro Proenca and Netherlands ace Arjen Robben for Mexico's World Cup exit.

Mexico boss Miguel Herrera has blasted referee Pedro Proenca and blamed him for his side's World Cup exit following the dramatic 2-1 defeat to the Netherlands.

Herrera's men were minutes away from booking a place in the quarter-final when Wesley Sneijder drilled an 88th-minute equaliser past goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa.

There was yet more drama, however, when Arjen Robben was awarded a stoppage-time penalty, which Klaas-Jan Huntelaar duly converted to send the Oranje through.

Robben has since admitted to diving to win a penalty earlier in the contest, and Herrera believes that Proenca contributed to Mexico's elimination by not booking the Dutchman on that occasion.

"The reason was the referee. He put us out of the next stage. As I said, the first goal was due to a mistake on our part," he told reporters.

"[Robben] dived three times, and the referee should have booked him the first time. The referee should go back and caution the guy who tried to cheat. If that's the case Robben doesn't do it the second time.

"At least we expect that the refereeing committee looks at this and the referee goes home just like us."

As a consequence of the win, Louis van Gaal's charges will face Costa Rica in the next round.

Wesley Sneijder of the Netherlands shoots and scores his team's first goal past Guillermo Ochoa of Mexico during the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Round of 16 match between Netherlands and Mexico at Castelao on June 29, 2014
Read Next:
Van Gaal: 'Dutch were lucky'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

1Manchester CityMan City23202167175062
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd23155348163250
5Tottenham HotspurSpurs23135546212544
8Leicester CityLeicester238783432231
11West Ham UnitedWest Ham2367102941-1225
12Crystal Palace2367102133-1225
14Huddersfield TownHuddersfield2366111939-2024
15Newcastle UnitedNewcastle2365122131-1023
16Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton2358101729-1223
18Stoke CityStoke2355132350-2720
19West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom23310101830-1219
20Swansea CitySwansea2345141435-2117
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account