Assistant referee replaced following Mexico errors

Assistant referee Humberto Clavijo is replaced by FIFA after ruling out two Mexico goals during their win over Cameroon at the World Cup.

The assistant referee who appeared to wrongly rule out two Mexico goals in their match against Cameroon last week has been replaced for the remainder of the World Cup.

Replays showed that Mexico could have been awarded two goals in the first half of their 1-0 win over the African side, but Humberto Clavijo claimed that the scorers had been offside.

FIFA announced that the Colombian will no longer be part of referee Wilmar Roldan's team at the tournament.

Christian Lescano of Ecuador will be replacing him for South Korea's clash with Algeria on Sunday.

Mexico's forward Oribe Peralta celebrates after scoring a goal during the Group A football match between Mexico and Cameroon at the Dunas Arena in Natal during the 2014 FIFA World Cup on June 13, 2014
Read Next:
Match Analysis: Mexico 1-0 Cameroon
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

1Manchester CityMan City23202167175062
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd23155348163250
5Tottenham HotspurSpurs23135546212544
8Leicester CityLeicester238783432231
11West Ham UnitedWest Ham2367102941-1225
12Crystal Palace2367102133-1225
14Huddersfield TownHuddersfield2366111939-2024
15Newcastle UnitedNewcastle2365122131-1023
16Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton2358101729-1223
18Stoke CityStoke2355132350-2720
19West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom23310101830-1219
20Swansea CitySwansea2345141435-2117
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account