Former Premier League official Dermot Gallagher has praised the referee for his decision-making regarding Manchester United's first goal against Chelsea.
Alonso got to his feet after the goal was scored and did not require treatment, leaving Gallagher to say that allowing play to continue was the correct call.
Gallagher told Sky Sports News: "The referee is 100% correct because in the directive it has to be a head injury and it is clearly not.
"The first thing he does after going to the ground is he grabs hold of his leg. You then ask, 'is it a serious injury?' Again, the referee decides it is not and the evidence of that is when the ball goes in the net, Alonso leapt up, went to Mike Dean and continued playing without any physio's attention.
"So it was not a serious injury or a head injury, Mike Dean 100% correct."
The Premier League encounter at Stamford Bridge ended in a 2-2 draw.