Jamie Carragher: 'I do not know when Liverpool will win Premier League title again'

Carragher plays down Liverpool title hopes
© Getty Images
Jamie Carragher is pessimistic about Liverpool's Premier League title hopes this season and does not know when the Reds will be champions of England again.

Jamie Carragher has played down Liverpool's Premier League hopes this season and does not know when the Reds will win the title again.

Jurgen Klopp's charges have had a mixed start to their 2017-18 campaign, with positive results such as the 4-0 win over Arsenal offset by displays like the 5-0 hammering by Manchester City.

Liverpool currently sit seventh in the Premier League table and, according to the former Reds stalwart, the disparity between his former club and the likes of the Manchester clubs and Chelsea is too high.

"Liverpool will not win the title this season. I am not convinced Jurgen Klopp will ever be able to bring it back to Anfield. I am not sure when my old club will win it again. I certainly do not see it happening in the near future," the 39-year-old wrote in The Telegraph.

"There is no doubt the ultimate ambition remains the same as it has been since the last title in 1990 and the onus is on Klopp and Liverpool's owners Fenway Sports Group to banish such pessimism, but every season I find myself asking the same questions. How can Liverpool do it? How can they compete with three of the wealthiest clubs in the world? Given the history and expectations at Anfield, has Liverpool become English football's impossible job?

"Manchester United, City and Chelsea are formidable on and off the park. They have financial strength and a winning culture Liverpool do not currently possess. For the last seven years FSG has tried to approach transfers in a studious way. It has yielded one League Cup. I think FSG are good owners, but to win the league their approach in the transfer market must be as robust as the big three, and I am not convinced they have the capacity to match them."

Liverpool have won the English top-flight title 18 times in their history but their last championship was 27 years ago.

England midfielder Jordan Henderson in action during his side's international friendly with Spain at Wembley on November 15, 2016
Read Next:
Klopp angry with England over Henderson
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
Scottish League Cup
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Segunda Division
Australian A-League
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Primeira Liga
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig
Major League Soccer
1Manchester CityMan City98103242825
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd96212241820
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs96211961320
7Newcastle UnitedNewcastle9423108214
11Huddersfield TownHuddersfield9333710-312
12Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton9324910-111
13West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom9243710-310
14Leicester CityLeicester92341214-29
15Swansea CitySwansea9225610-48
16West Ham UnitedWest Ham9225817-98
17Stoke CityStoke92251020-108
20Crystal Palace9108219-173