Jose Mourinho leaves Chelsea by mutual consent

Jose Mourinho leaves Chelsea
© Getty Images
Jose Mourinho leaves Chelsea by mutual consent after only four wins in 16 Premier League games this season.

Chelsea announced this afternoon that manager Jose Mourinho has left the club by mutual consent after nine defeats in 16 Premier League games this season.

The 52-year-old's second spell in charge at Stamford Bridge comes to an end just seven months after he led the Blues to the English title.

Mourinho's men also won the League Cup last season, but their form has nosedived in 2015-16.

Chelsea are 16th in the table, only one point above the bottom three and 20 points behind leaders Leicester City, whom they lost 2-1 to on Monday night in Mourinho's last game in charge.

In a statement on the club website, Chelsea said: "All at Chelsea thank Jose for his immense contribution since he returned as manager in the summer of 2013.

"His three league titles, FA Cup, Community Shield and three League Cup wins over two spells make him the most successful manager in our 110-year history. But both Jose and the board agreed results have not been good enough this season and believe it is in the best interests of both parties to go our separate ways.

"The club wishes to make clear Jose leaves us on good terms and will always remain a much-loved, respected and significant figure at Chelsea."

According to BBC Sport, Mourinho, who will be paid for the rest of the season, was told of his departure this afternoon in a meeting with the club's board.

The latest reports suggest that Chelsea could target a move for either Pep Guardiola or Diego Simeone at the end of the season and in the meantime appoint an interim manager for the rest of the season.

Former interim boss Guus Hiddink has been linked with a possible return, while former Tottenham Hotspur head coach Juande Ramos is also said to be among the contenders to take over from Mourinho.

Diego Simeone the coach of Club Atletico de Madrid celebrates towards his supporters after winning the La Liga after the match between FC Barcelona and Club Atletico de Madrid at Camp Nou on May 17, 2014
Read Next:
Chelsea keen on end-of-season Simeone move?
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Manchester CityMan City87102942522
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd86202121920
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs85211551017
9Newcastle UnitedNewcastle832398111
10Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton9324910-111
11West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom824279-210
13Huddersfield TownHuddersfield823359-49
14Swansea CitySwansea822458-38
16Stoke CityStoke8224918-98
17West Ham UnitedWest Ham9225817-98
18Leicester CityLeicester81341013-36
20Crystal Palace8107218-163