Edin Dzeko blames "shameful" referee for Bosnia-Herzegovina's World Cup exit

Dzeko blames referee for World Cup exit
© Getty Images
Bosnia-Herzegovina striker Edin Dzeko criticises the performance of referee Peter O'Leary, claiming that he is the reason why his side lost the game against Nigeria.

Bosnia-Herzegovina striker Edin Dzeko has blasted referee Peter O'Leary, describing his performance as "shameful" after the 1-0 defeat to Nigeria.

Dzeko complained about having a goal wrongly ruled out for offside, as well as a foul on Emir Spahic prior to Peter Odemwingie's decisive strike that sent Bosnia-Herzegovina home.

Speaking after the game, Dzeko struggled to hide his disappointment and called for the referee to be sent home, claiming that he was the reason why his side lost.

"We are going home, we are sad because of that but the referee should go home too, because he changed the result, he changed the game, and that's why we lost," Dzeko told reporters. "We tried to come back after the goal where there was obviously a foul on our captain and before when I scored a goal it was not offside.

"We fight until the end, but we didn't have our luck today. In the first game we did everything, and Argentina beat us, but today we should have won this game.

"Nigeria played good as well, but the referee was shameful for this competition."

Bosnia-Herzegovina face Iran in their last game of the tournament.

Peter Odemwingie of Nigeria celebrates scoring his team's first goal with teammate Emmanuel Emenike during the 2014 FIFA World Cup Group F match between Nigeria and Bosnia-Herzegovina at Arena Pantanal on June 21, 2014
Read Next:
Match Analysis: Nigeria 1-0 Bosnia-Herzegovina
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
Scottish League Cup
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Segunda Division
Australian A-League
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Primeira Liga
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig
Major League Soccer
1Manchester CityMan City98103242825
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd96212241820
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs96211961320
7Newcastle UnitedNewcastle9423108214
11Huddersfield TownHuddersfield9333710-312
12Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton9324910-111
13West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom9243710-310
14Leicester CityLeicester92341214-29
15Swansea CitySwansea9225610-48
16West Ham UnitedWest Ham9225817-98
17Stoke CityStoke92251020-108
20Crystal Palace9108219-173