Former Premier League official Dermot Gallagher suggests that Arsenal midfielder Granit Xhaka dived to try to win a penalty against Brighton & Hove Albion.
Former Premier League official Dermot Gallagher has said that referee Stuart Attwell was correct not to award Arsenal a penalty against Brighton & Hove Albion.
During the second half at the Amex Stadium, Granit Xhaka went to ground in the area after an attempt at a challenge by Dale Stephens, only for the referee to wave away Arsenal's appeals.
Replays suggested that there had been no contact with the Swiss international, and Gallagher has acknowledged that the referee had made the right call.
Gallagher told Sky Sports News: "Correct decision. Not a penalty. He doesn't play the man, pulls out and the player goes down.
"It's not a foul. He misses the player, misses the ball, but it's not a foul."
Brighton eventually prevailed by a 2-1 scoreline on the south coast.
Gallagher: 'Kolasinac deserved red card' >