Result: Michael van Gerwen battles to World Grand Prix triumph

Result: Van Gerwen battles to Grand Prix triumph
© Getty Images
Michael van Gerwen wins the World Grand Prix in Dublin with a 5-3 victory over James Wade.

Michael van Gerwen has record a 5-3 victory over James Wade to win the World Grand Prix for the second time.

The world number one, who also won in Dublin in 2012, was pushed all the way by the left-hander before ending the contest in clinical fashion.

The first four sets all went with throw before Van Gerwen stole a march on Wade after the world number seven had missed three darts at double 10 to lead for a third time.

Wade responded by taking the sixth before opening up a 2-0 advantage in the seventh, but Van Gerwen stormed back with three successive legs to move one away from another major title.

While Van Gerwen's performance was improving, Wade's game was beginning to falter and the reigning PDC world champion closed the match out on double top to end a successful week in Ireland.

James Wade of England celebrates winning his first round match against Darren Webster of England during the World Darts Championship on Day Six at Alexandra Palace on December 19, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Wade defeats Taylor at World Grand Prix
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole