Result: Kolkata Knight Riders win Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders secure a five-wicket victory with two balls to spare against Chennai Super Kings to clinch their first Indian Premier League title.

Kolkata Knight Riders have won their first Indian Premier League title after a tense five-wicket win against Chennai Super Kings.

Defending champions Chennai batted first and were able to set an intimidating total of 190-3 from their 20 overs.

Mike Hussey scored 54 and Murali Vijay made 42 but Suresh Raina top scored with an entertaining innings of 73 from just 38 balls.

Despite losing Gautam Gambhir early on, Kolkata were able to give themselves a chance of victory when Manvinder Bisla and Jaques Kallis put on a partnership of 136 but Bisla's dismissal signalled the start of a small batting collapse.

The Knight Riders required nine runs from the final over and Manoj Tiwary managed to steer his side over the finishing line as he hit Dwayne Bravo for successive fours to clinch the trophy.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Read Next:
Chanderpaul continues West Indies fightback
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole