Result: Kolkata Knight Riders extend winning run in Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders record their seventh consecutive win in the IPL with a four-wicket victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Kolkata Knight Riders have made it seven consecutive wins in the Indian Premier League with a four-wicket victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The Sunrisers hit 160-7 before the Knight Riders, who have already qualified for the playoffs, reached 161-6 with around five overs remaining.

Hyderabad got off to a bad start at the crease when David Warner was dismissed for four runs, but Shikhar Dhawan (29), Naman Ojha (26), Venugopal Rao (27) and Darren Sammy (29) helped to boost their score.

However, Jason Holder (16) was the only batsmen to get into double figures in the lower order as the Sunrisers finished with a modest total.

Morne Morkel, Vinay Kumar, Ryan ten Doeschate and Shakib Al Hasan took one wicket each for Kolkata, while Dhawan, Rao and Holder were all run out.

A mammoth knock of 72 off just 22 balls from Yusuf Pathan made up the bulk of the Knight Riders' runs when it was their turn to bat, with Robin Uthappa (41) and Gautam Gambhir (28) also helping their team towards victory.

Suryakumar Yadav (12) then came in to make sure that Kolkata extended their winning run ahead of the playoffs.

Karan Sharma took an impressive four wickets for the Sunrisers, while Holder also got in on the act.

Generic cricket image
Read Next:
Result: Knight Riders beat Sunrisers in final over
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account