Result: Kings XI Punjab through to Indian Premier League final

A century from Virender Sehwag leads Kings XI Punjab to the final of the Indian Premier League, beating Chennai Super Kings by 24 runs.

Kings XI Punjab have progressed to the final of the Indian Premier League after beating Chennai Super Kings this afternoon.

Chennai won the toss and decided to bowl, allowing their opponents to post a total of 226-6 from their 20 overs.

Virender Sehwag and Manan Vohra put on a 110-run partnership for the opening wicket before Ishway Pandey dismissed Vohra for 34.

Sehway remained at the crease for 58 balls, hitting a century before being caught by Faf du Plessis, while David Miller contributed 38 to set the Super Kings a target of 227 for victory.

Du Plessis opened the Chennai reply alongside Dwayne Smith, but was dismissed for a first-ball duck inside the opening over.

Suresh Raina steadied the innings with 87 off 25 balls before being carelessly run out by George Bailey to reduce the team to 100-3.

The wickets continued to tumble, leaving the visitors needing 40 off the final over, with MS Dhoni and Mohit Sharma at the crease.

However, the duo came up short, finishing the match 24 runs behind and leaving Kings XI to face the Kolkata Knight Riders in Sunday's final.

Generic cricket image
Read Next:
Result: Punjab light up Chennai
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account