MX23RW : Monday, June 17 13:20:35| >> :120:19933:19933:

Marko critiques Monaco's future viability for F1

Marko critiques Monaco's future viability for F1
© Reuters
Monaco's Grand Prix as it stands "will not work in the long run," states Dr Helmut Marko, the consultant for Red Bull's Formula 1 team.

Monaco's Grand Prix as it stands "will not work in the long run," states Dr Helmut Marko, the consultant for Red Bull's Formula 1 team.

The unusually processional and painfully slow Monaco GP unfolded at a particularly inopportune moment, as Liberty Media, the event's promoters, are negotiating a higher hosting fee with the organisers, with the current agreement set to conclude in the following year.

Views vary widely within the F1 paddock over whether Monaco remains appropriate for the current landscape of the sport.

"The tradition is still there," stated former F1 driver Christian Klien on Servus TV. "I can't really imagine a season without Monaco. But the cars are too big, too long and too wide. You simply can't overtake.

"They were up to eleven seconds (per lap) slower as they tried to finish the race on the hard tyres."

Despite the critiques, some found the 2024 Monaco GP compelling, like F1 tyre expert Kees van de Grint. "I watched the 78 laps with fascination," remarked the ex-Bridgestone and Ferrari technician to Viaplay.

"How the top four drove with such concentration, staying so close to each other with such focus and error-free. It was also exciting because (Charles) Leclerc drove so tactically. So yes, I enjoyed it."

Meanwhile, others are actively brainstorming modifications for future races. "For example, the harbour chicane could be moved further back, which would give more space for overtaking," suggested Alex Wurz, a retired F1 driver now engaged in track design.

"I know of some other tricks too," Wurz added.

Dr. Helmut Marko firmly believes changes are imperative, as a tedious process "distorts" F1 and the entertainment it provides and "will not work in the long run."

"They have to come up with something, either in terms of the track or the pitstops," he told Osterreich. "For us, it might involve requiring drivers to use all three types of tyres."

ID:544696:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2396:

Click here for more stories about Helmut Marko

Click here for more stories about Red Bull

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Red Bull team principal Christian Horner ahead of practice on November 17, 2023
Read Next:
Horner faces sack, as F1 scandal heat rises again
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Monday, June 17
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!