Result: Lewis Hamilton beats Nico Rosberg in Austrian Grand Prix thriller

Result: Lewis Hamilton beats Rosberg in Austria thriller
© Getty Images
Nico Rosberg sees his lead at the top of the standings cut to 11 points after a collision with Lewis Hamilton allowed his Mercedes teammate to take top spot in Austria.

Lewis Hamilton recovered from a collision with Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg to claim victory at the Austrian Grand Prix on Sunday afternoon.

The Englishman, who is now just 11 points behind his title rival, took the lead on the last lap when Rosberg damaged his front wing after contact was made.

Rosberg dropped down to fourth as a result, finishing below both Kimi Raikonnen and Max Verstappen who took second and third respectively in Austria.

Hamilton looked to have seen any chance of victory pass him by due to pit errors, but he was able to usurp his teammate - who himself surged through from sixth place at one point - late on to claim a vital win.

Speaking after the race, Rosberg blamed Hamilton for the final-lap collision, telling Sky Sports News: "I am absolutely gutted, it's unbelievable. I was sure to win the race and lost it on the last lap, that's pretty intense.

"We were battling. I was struggling a little bit with my brakes because they got a bit hot in the end and my tyres were degrading so that gave Lewis a chance.

"Nevertheless, I was confident I could defend accordingly and bring it home. I had the inside position, a strong position, and went a bit deep into the corner, but that's fine cause I dictate, but l was very surprised that Lewis turned in and that caused a collision."

Sebastian Vettel also suffered a tyre blowout while leading, which cost him dearly as he failed to cross the line at the end of the race - one of six drivers to do so.

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
4. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
5. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
6. Jenson Button (McLaren)
7. Romain Gorsjean (Haas)
8. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
9. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
10. Pascal Wehrlein (Manor)
11. Esteban Gutierrez (Haas)
12. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
13. Felipe Nasr (Sauber)
14. Kevin Magnussen (Renault)
15. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
16. Rio Haryanto (Manor)
DNF. Sergio Perez (Force India)
DNF. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
DNF. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
DNF. Felipe Massa (Wiliams)
DNF. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
DNF. Daniil Kyvat (Toro Rosso)

General view of start of the Brazilian Formula One Grand Prix at the Interlagos racetrack in Sao Paulo Brazil on November 9 2014
Read Next:
'Dangerous' kerbs cause a stir in Austria
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole