MX23RW : Friday, June 21 17:32:30| >> :120:31454:31454:

Sauber form dips to 'embarrassing' levels - report

Sauber form dips to 'embarrassing' levels - report
© Reuters
Sauber's ongoing crisis in performance has reached what veteran journalist Roger Benoit describes as an "embarrassing" state.

Sauber's ongoing crisis in performance has reached what veteran journalist Roger Benoit describes as an "embarrassing" state.

Despite Audi's full acquisition of the Swiss team and efforts to bring on board departing Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz for 2025, Sauber's neon green cars languished at the back throughout the Monaco weekend.

"The difference between where we are and Q2 is simply amazing," stated Valtteri Bottas.

In his latest column for Blick from Monaco, Benoit didn't mince words: "It couldn't be more embarrassing."

"The red flag was waved twice in the Monaco practice sessions," he noted, "both after a Sauber crash."

"How long will Audi, which is taking over the whole business, watch this tragedy unfolding at its future partner? Because this negative spiral will also affect the Germans as they build a powerful Formula 1 team," Benoit added.

Benoit also criticized three major figures at Sauber.

"Bottas and (Guanyu) Zhou, accompanied by the endless fairy tales of team representative (Alessandro) Alunni Bravi, should not even be a topic for the diligent cleaning crew in the Hinwil factory halls for 2025," he remarked pointedly.

However, Benoit, aged 74, does see some positive prospects ahead.

"Nico Hulkenberg is coming back to Hinwil," he mentioned. "And if Carlos Sainz does not come, which would not be smart despite the lack of results, Yuki Tsunoda will be in pole position for the other seat."

"He is having a sensational season with Racing Bulls Honda, already scoring 15 points."

ID:544549:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2222:

Click here for more stories about Roger Benoit

Click here for more stories about Ferrari

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Logan Sargeant at the Abu Dhabi GP on November 23, 2023
Read Next:
Sargeant battling to keep F1 seat amid rising competition
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 21
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!