FIFA to fast-track Diafra Sakho FA Cup ruling

FIFA to fast-track Sakho FA Cup ruling

FIFA has fast-tracked its investigation into whether Diafra Sakho should have played in West Ham United's FA Cup win against Bristol City.

West Ham could discover on Wednesday whether they will be thrown out of the FA Cup for using Sakho, who scored the only goal in their 1-0 fourth-round win at Ashton Gate.

Sakho had withdrawn from Senegal's Africa Cup of Nations squad with a back injury but played in the cup game just 18 days later, while the Cup of Nations was still in progress.

According to The Telegraph, West Ham say that the injury prevented Sakho from flying but that, on the advice of a specialist, he was able to travel by limousine to Bristol for the FA Cup match.

Unless there is prior agreement with the national association, FIFA rules state that players cannot appear for their clubs during the period they should have been released.

Author photo

Written by

Share this article:
Subscribe to our newsletter

Get FREE daily news and in-depth previews for games from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football — straight to your inbox.

Subscribe