Watford announce Walter Mazzarri exit

Watford announce Walter Mazzarri exit
© SilverHub
Walter Mazzarri will leave Watford after just one season in charge, despite keeping the Hornets in the Premier League.

Watford have decided to part ways with head coach Walter Mazzarri at the end of the season.

The Italian was brought in to replace Quique Flores last summer and he has become just the third Hornets boss to keep the club in the Premier League.

However, the 55-year-old will depart Vicarage Road after Sunday's match with Manchester City as a result of discussions with the club's owners.

Chairman Scott Duxbury said in a statement: "After the Board discussed with Walter Mazzarri the club's future goals and aspirations, it was decided he will be stepping down from his position as the club's Head Coach after the final game of the 2016/17 season.

"We thank Walter and his staff for the contribution they have made to Watford Football Club over the past year."

While Watford have not been in immediate danger of relegation this season, they will fall short of the points total achieved during the last campaign, which also included a run to the FA Cup semi-finals.

It has also been suggested that Mazzarri's failure to learn English is a contributory factor to his exit from the club.

Mazzarri has won just 12 of his 40 matches in charge, with all but one of those victories coming in the league after early exits in both domestic cup competitions.

Walter Mazzarri watches on during the Premier League game between Manchester City and Watford on December 14, 2016
Read Next:
Mazzarri ignores speculation over future
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
Scottish League Cup
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Segunda Division
Australian A-League
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Primeira Liga
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig
Major League Soccer
1Manchester CityMan City98103242825
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd96212241820
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs96211961320
7Newcastle UnitedNewcastle9423108214
11Huddersfield TownHuddersfield9333710-312
12Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton9324910-111
13West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom9243710-310
14Leicester CityLeicester92341214-29
15Swansea CitySwansea9225610-48
16West Ham UnitedWest Ham9225817-98
17Stoke CityStoke92251020-108
20Crystal Palace9108219-173