Michael Higdon, Leigh Griffiths claim PFA Scotland awards

Higdon, Griffiths claim PFA Scotland awards
© PA Photos
Motherwell striker Michael Higdon is named Scottish Player of the Year by his fellow professionals, with Hibernian forward Leigh Griffiths picking up the Young Player award.

Motherwell striker Michael Higdon has been named the PFA Player of the Year in Scotland after scoring 27 goals in an impressive campaign.

Higdon has become the first player outside of the Old Firm to win the award since 1990.

The 29-year-old saw off competition from Leigh Griffiths, Niall McGinn and Andrew Shinnie to become Motherwell's first ever winner of the individual honour.

Hibernian forward Griffiths picked up the award for Young Player of the Year, edging Celtic midfielder Victor Wanyama and Dundee United duo Stuart Armstrong and Gary Mackay-Steven.

Queen of the South boss Allan Johnston was selected as Manager of the Year after leading his side to the Division Two title in dominant fashion.

Hibernian's Leigh Griffiths celebrates scoring the winning goal in extra time during the Scottish Cup Semi Final on April 13, 2013
Read Next:
PFA Scotland's player of the year shortlist announced
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

7St Johnstone217592130-926
9Hamilton AcademicalHamilton2165103034-423
11Partick Thistle2255121937-1820
12Ross County2245132136-1517
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account