May 3, 2014 at 12.15pm UK at ​The Den
Woolford (28')
Beevers (12'), Bailey (44'), Woolford (45')
FT(HT: 1-0)

Smith (45'), Ritchie (81')

Result: Millwall confirm Championship status with final-day victory

Millwall ensure they will stay in the Championship for at least another season with a final-day 1-0 win over Bournemouth.

Millwall confirmed their Championship status for at least another season with a 1-0 win over Bournemouth on the final day of the season.

The home side began brightly, with Martyn Woolford firing wide from distance before Owen Garvan glanced a header over the bar from a corner.

Stefan Maierhofer's header was saved by Lee Camp, and Steve Morison scuffed the rebound wide as the home side continued to press for an opener.

Morison then struck the bar with a looping effort, while Bournemouth showed a rare glimpse of their attacking prowess when Tokelo Rantie forced David Forde into a save.

Martyn Woolford of Millwall beats Steve Cook of Bournemouth to the ball to score their first goal of the game during the Sky Bet Championship match on May 3, 2014© Getty Images

Just before the half-hour mark, Millwall did put themselves 1-0 up when Garvan battled his way past a challenge on the left wing and floated in a cross which Woolford flicked into the far corner.

Bournemouth introduced Simon Francis and Shaun MacDonald at the break as they looked to turn their fortunes around, and the latter almost levelled things up in the 62nd minute, but Forde denied the 25-year-old with a good reaction save.

Simeon Jackson should have put Millwall 2-0 ahead, but the forward sliced his effort wide after he had rounded Lee Camp.

The miss didn't deter the hosts though, and Camp had to be alert to tip away Scott Malone's acrobatic effort from the edge of the box with 20 minutes remaining.

Millwall manager Ian Holloway looks on during his team's Championship match against Ipswich on January 18, 2014
Read Next:
Half-Time Report: Millwall edge closer to safety
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Wolverhampton WanderersWolves1282221111026
2Cardiff CityCardiff127321710724
3Sheffield UnitedSheff Utd128041610624
4Bristol City125612011921
5Preston North EndPreston12561158721
6Leeds UnitedLeeds126241812620
7Aston Villa125431712519
8Norwich CityNorwich125431214-219
10Ipswich TownIpswich116052017318
12Sheffield WednesdaySheff Weds124441614216
13Derby CountyDerby114431513216
14Nottingham ForestNott'm Forest125071521-615
15Queens Park RangersQPR123541516-114
16Hull City123452320313
21Birmingham CityBirmingham12327819-1111
22Burton Albion12246623-1710
24Bolton WanderersBolton12129623-175