Gillingham appoint former manager Peter Taylor as director of football

Gills appoint Taylor as director of football
© Getty Images
Former Gillingham manager Peter Taylor is appointed as their new director of football, with Ady Pennock set to continue as head coach.

Gillingham have confirmed that former manager Peter Taylor has returned to the club as their new director of football, with Ady Pennock set to continue as head coach.

Taylor has had two spells in charge of the Gills, leading them to promotion to League One via the playoffs in 2000 in his first tenure at the club.

The 64-year-old then returned to Priestfield 13 years later following the sacking of Martin Allen, but was himself dismissed after 14 months in charge.

A statement on the Gillingham website read: "Following meetings with chairman Paul Scally this afternoon, Gillingham Football Club can confirm that Ady Pennock will be continuing as head coach for the 2017-18 Sky Bet League One season.

"Furthermore, we are delighted to announce that Peter Taylor will be returning to the MEMS Priestfield Stadium as our new director of football. He will oversee recruitment and all footballing policy."

Most recently, Taylor has been with Indian Super League franchise Kerala Blasters and also worked as an assistant with the New Zealand national team.

Gillingham manager Justin Edinburgh during the Sky Bet League One match between Crawley Town and Gillingham at The Stadium on March 28, 2015
Read Next:
Justin Edinburgh sacked as Gills manager
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Shrewsbury TownShrewsbury18124226121440
2Wigan AthleticWigan18123333112239
3Blackburn RoversBlackburn19114434161837
4Scunthorpe UnitedScunthorpe20106425151036
5Charlton AthleticCharlton1710432719834
6Bradford CityBradford2010462923634
7Peterborough UnitedPeterborough188462925428
8Rotherham UnitedRotherham188283125626
9Oxford UnitedOxford Utd217593532326
12Fleetwood Town197572930-126
13MK Dons196672127-624
14Southend UnitedSouthend186662128-724
16Oldham AthleticOldham186483036-622
17Bristol Rovers1870112633-721
18Doncaster RoversDoncaster195591924-520
19AFC Wimbledon195591420-620
21Northampton TownNorthampton1953111532-1718
23Plymouth ArgylePlymouth1945101528-1317