Chivas USA to cease operations after 10 years in the MLS

Chivas USA will cease operations in the MLS after 10 years in the league, confirms commissioner Don Garber.

The MLS has announced today that Chivas USA will cease operations, ending the club's 10-season tenure in the league.

The California-based club have been perennial strugglers in the MLS since their arrival in the league in 2005, having only had marginal success in the 2007 season when they reached the Conference semi-finals.

MLS commissioner Don Garber announced that the team would cease to exist and will be replaced by another franchise in Los Angeles for the 2017 season.

Garber said in a statement: "After conducting a comprehensive strategic review of the market and Chivas USA's operations, we will announce that effective this afternoon, Chivas USA will cease operations.

"This was a very difficult decision. We want to thank you, the fans, for ten years of unconditional support. We are grateful for your commitment to the club and to the sport.

"As part of our new Los Angeles strategy, we will launch a new MLS Los Angeles club for the 2017 season and will announce the new team's ownership group later this week. I believe strongly that a new MLS Los Angeles team with passionate local ownership and an inclusive approach targeting all soccer/sports fans will be very successful."

Club president Nelson Rodriguez added: "While the new club promises to be inclusive and will benefit from residing in its own soccer-specific stadium in Los Angeles, the news is obviously bittersweet for our loyal fans and dedicated partners.

"Over the last decade everyone associated with Chivas USA has worked earnestly and with deep devotion. Staff, players and coaches have defended the Red & White with the same pride and honor that you exhibited on our behalf.

"You have been unconditional in your support of the club, only asking that in return we give our best each and every day."

The MLS will realign in the 2015 season with the additions of New York City FC and Orlando City, who will both join the Eastern Conference. Meanwhile, Sporting Kansas City and the Houston Dynamo will shift to the Western division.

New York Red Bulls' Thierry Henry in action on March 16, 2013
Read Next:
MLS refutes Red Bulls sale reports
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

1Manchester CityMan City23202167175062
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd23155348163250
5Tottenham HotspurSpurs23135546212544
8Leicester CityLeicester238783432231
11West Ham UnitedWest Ham2367102941-1225
12Crystal Palace2367102133-1225
14Huddersfield TownHuddersfield2366111939-2024
15Newcastle UnitedNewcastle2365122131-1023
16Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton2358101729-1223
18Stoke CityStoke2355132350-2720
19West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom23310101830-1219
20Swansea CitySwansea2345141435-2117
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account