Result: Johanna Konta beats Agnieszka Radwanska to win Apia International

Johanna Konta of Great Britain reacts against Louisa Chirico of the United States during their Women's Singles First Round match on Day Two of the 2015 US Open at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on September 1, 2015
© Getty Images
British number one Johanna Konta beats Agnieszka Radwanska to win the Apia International in Sydney.

Johanna Konta has won her second WTA title after recording a straight-sets triumph over Agnieszka Radwanska at the Apia International.

The British number one had not lost a set in her run to the final in Sydney, and she capped off a fine week with a sensational win over world number three Radwanska.

Konta had only taken one set off the Pole in two previous meetings, but she dominated from start to finish on Friday and wrapped up the first set with one break of serve.

The Sydney-born British representative would have expected a response from Radwanska, but she had frequent joy on her opponent's second serve and two more breaks of serve were enough to wrap up a 6-4 6-2 victory in just 81 minutes.

The success for Konta marks her second title on the main tour after she beat Venus Williams to claim the Stanford Classic in July.

Konta will sit at number nine in the world rankings when the standings are updated on Monday, but the win comes at a time when she is required to equal or better her semi-final place at last year's Australian Open.

Johanna Konta in action on day two of the Australian Open on January 19, 2016
Read Next:
Konta to face Flipkens at Australian Open

You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole
ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray12,005
2Serbia Novak Djokovic8,915
3Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,705
4Japan Kei Nishikori4,730
5Canada Milos Raonic4,480
6Switzerland Roger Federer4,305
7Spain Rafael Nadal4,145
8Austria Dominic Thiem3,465
9Croatia Marin Cilic3,420
10France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga3,310
11France Gael Monfils3,190
12Belgium David Goffin2,975
13Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov2,960
14Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,790
15Lucas Pouille2,456
16Australia Nick Kyrgios2,425
17United States Jack Sock2,375
18Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,190
19Pablo Carreno Busta2,025
20Alexander Zverev1,850