Neymar wins FIFA Puskas award

© PA Photos
Brazilian striker Neymar has been handed the FIFA Puskas award for his solo strike against Flamengo.

Brazil and Santos striker Neymar has been awarded the FIFA Puskas prize for 2011 at the Ballon d'Or Gala in Zurich this evening.

The award is handed to the player that has been judged to have scored the best goal across a calendar year.

Neymar's solo strike came during a match against Flamengo, a goal in which he beat a number of opposition defenders before slotting the ball into the net.

His strike beat off competition from Manchester United frontman Wayne Rooney, who made the shortlist with his overhead kick against Manchester City last season.

Also in contention was Lionel Messi for his goal against Arsenal in the Champions League.

Vincent Kompany
Read Next:
Ferguson defends Rooney's actions
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole