FIA to award double points for final race

The FIA announce that they will award double points in the final race of the season from 2014 onwards.

The FIA have announced that they will award double points for the final race of the season from next year onwards.

The sport's governing body has taken the decision in an attempt to keep both the Drivers' and Constructors' Championships alive for as long as possible.

Both titles have been dominated by Red Bull in recent years, with the team winning four consecutive Constructors' Championships and Sebastian Vettel winning the same number of Drivers' Championships in a row.

The German won the title with four races to spare this season and went one better in 2011, clinching the crown five races from the end of the Formula One calendar.

The new rule means that the number of points available to a driver in the final race, which will take place in Abu Dhabi next year, will increase from 25 to 50.

In a statement, the FIA said that the decision was made "to maximise focus on the championship until the end of the campaign".

Had the same rule been in place over the last decade, Fernando Alonso would have beaten Vettel in 2012, Felipe Massa would have triumphed over Lewis Hamilton in 2008 and Kimi Raikkonen would have denied Michael Schumacher in 2003.

German Formula One driver Sebastian Vettel celebrates his victory in the Brazil F-1 GP on November 24, 2013
Read Next:
Gene: 'Red Bull will keep dominating'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account