Result: Lewis Hamilton wins from pole at Malaysian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton wins the Malaysian Grand Prix from pole position to lead Mercedes to a first on-two since 1955, with Nico Rosberg second and Sebastien Vettel third.

Lewis Hamilton led from start to finish at the Malaysian Grand Prix to drive home a Mercedes one-two.

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP (L) celebrates on the podium with second placed Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP after the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 30, 2014© Getty Images

The British driver held a commanding lead throughout most of the 56 laps in Sepang and eventually finished 13 seconds clear of his teammate Nico Rosberg in second.

Mercedes have now won the opening two races of the season after topping the podium in Australia through Rosberg, who overtook reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel in the Red Bull on the first lap.

Fernando Alonso secured fourth place by manoeuvring his way around the Force India of Niko Hulkenberg, who drove well on two stops to come from seventh on the grid to cross the line in fifth.

Alonso's Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen finished outside of the points after being clipped by McLaren rookie Kevin Magnussen, who recovered from a five-second stop-go penalty to finish ninth.

British driver Jenson Button fared three places better, with the Lotus duo of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas sandwiched in between the McLarens after the Brazilian ignored team orders to let his teammate pass.

Daniil Kvyat completed the top 10 as Mercedes earned their first one-two since the Italian Grand Prix of 1955, courtesy of Hamilton ending a winless drought which stretched back to the 2013 Hungarian GP.

Full standings
1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
3. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
5. Niko Hulkenberg (Force India)
6. Jenson Button (McLaren)
7. Felipe Massa (Williams)
8. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
9. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
10. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
11. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
12. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
13. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
14. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)
15. Max Chilton (Marussia)

Retired: Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull), Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber), Adrian Sutil (Sauber), Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso), Jules Bianchi (Marussia), Pastor Maldonado (Lotus), Sergio Perez (Force India).

Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP drives during practice for the Brazilian Formula One Grand Prix at Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace on November 22, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Mercedes dominate final practice session
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account