Leon Best insists that he did not dive to win a penalty in Sheffield Wednesday's 3-0 win over Queens Park Rangers on Tuesday.
Leon Best has responded to suggestions that he dived to win a penalty during Sheffield Wednesday's 3-0 victory over Queens Park Rangers on Tuesday.
The forward was adjudged to have been fouled in the box by Richard Dunne, who was shown a red card for the challenge shortly before Chris Maguire opened the scoring from the spot for the hosts.
"I was through and I was going to hit it with my left and I just thought I'd take another touch and get in front of him," Best told reporters.
"He clipped my right knee and it took me down. I probably could have got the ball but I wouldn't have been able to score.
"There was definite contact, I am not a diver, I try and stay on my feet. Plus he's a friend from the Republic of Ireland squad."
Stuart Gray's side return to action against Doncaster Rovers on Saturday afternoon.
Gray "delighted" with victory >