Result: Wigan Athletic seal playoff spot

Wigan Athletic are in the Championship playoffs following a 1-0 win over Birmingham City.

Wigan Athletic have booked their place in the Championship playoffs with a 1-0 win over relegation-threatened Birmingham City this evening.

Scott Allan of Birmingham City and James McArthur of Wigan Athletic challenge for the ball during the Sky Bet Championship match on April 29, 2014© Getty Images

Wigan took the lead just three minutes into the tie when Callum McManaman rounded two home defenders on the edge of the box before drilling a low strike past Darren Randolph.

Federico Macheda had a chance to get Birmingham back on level terms shortly after, but he was ruled offside as he battled in the air with Scott Carson.

The Wigan keeper had to remain alert throughout the first half as Emyr Huws sent a well-placed cross towards the away goal, but Carson was able to tip it behind.

Jordi Gomez tried to extend Wigan's lead before the break, but Randolph made sure that his side were just a goal down at half time.

After a scrappy start to the second half, McManaman found himself through on goal looking for his second of the evening, but slipped as he tried to shoot, giving the hosts an easy clearance.

Martin Waghorn tried to provide a cross for the lively striker shortly after, but the ball had too much pace, allowing Jonathan Spector to clear.

Nikola Zigic came close to levelling the scores for Birmingham 10 minutes into the second half, but he headed wide from Chris Burke's cross.

The home side, who occupy the final relegation place in the table, continued to apply pressure as they desperately looked to ease their fears of dropping into League One, but they were unable to find the back of the net before the end of the match.

The result means that Wigan join Derby County and Queens Park Rangers in the playoffs, while Birmingham will need one of the sides above them to slip up to avoid the drop at the weekend.

Callum McManaman of Wigan Athletic celebrates scoring his team's third goal during the Sky Bet Championship match between Wigan Athletic and Reading at DW Stadium on April 18, 2014
Read Next:
Half-Time Report: McManaman fires Wigan ahead
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Wolverhampton WanderersWolves1282221111026
2Cardiff CityCardiff127321710724
3Sheffield UnitedSheff Utd128041610624
4Bristol City125612011921
5Preston North EndPreston12561158721
6Leeds UnitedLeeds126241812620
7Aston Villa125431712519
8Norwich CityNorwich125431214-219
10Ipswich TownIpswich116052017318
12Sheffield WednesdaySheff Weds124441614216
13Derby CountyDerby114431513216
14Nottingham ForestNott'm Forest125071521-615
15Queens Park RangersQPR123541516-114
16Hull City123452320313
21Birmingham CityBirmingham12327819-1111
22Burton Albion12246623-1710
24Bolton WanderersBolton12129623-175