Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud wins FIFA Puskas Award for scorpion kick

Giroud wins award for scorpion kick
© SilverHub
Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud wins the FIFA Puskas Award at 'The Best' ceremony in London for his scorpion kick against Crystal Palace last season.

Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud has picked up the FIFA Puskas Award at 'The Best' ceremony in London for his scorpion kick.

The France international, who is struggling for first-team action at the Emirates this season, caught the eye in a game against Crystal Palace in the 2016-17 campaign.

Inside the first 17 minutes of the Premier League encounter, Giroud found the back of the net with a scorpion kick volley to help the Gunners to a 2-0 victory over the Eagles.

Giroud was presented with the award at the London Palladium, beating Venezuela's Deyna Castellanos's stoppage-time goal from the halfway line in the Under-17s Women's World Cup, as well as a bicycle kick scored by South African goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke.

Meanwhile, Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane has been named FIFA Best Coach of the year for 2017.

Olivier Giroud waves during the Premier League game between Arsenal and Manchester United on May 7, 2017
Read Next:
Giroud in contention for Puskas award
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Manchester CityMan City1211104073334
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd128222762126
4Tottenham HotspurSpurs127232091123
9Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton114341111015
10Huddersfield TownHuddersfield12435817-915
11Newcastle UnitedNewcastle124261114-314
12Leicester CityLeicester123451618-213
15Stoke CityStoke113351322-912
17West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom12246918-910
18West Ham UnitedWest Ham122371125-149
19Swansea CitySwansea12228715-88
20Crystal Palace12129624-185