Apr 27, 2013 at 2.30pm UK
Borussia M'bachBorussia Monchengladbach
Diego (75'), Arnold (34'), Olic (61')
FT(HT: 1-0)
Kokou Mlapa (52')
de Jong (83')

Result: Wolfsburg secure Bundesliga status

Wolfsburg's Diego celebrates after converting a penalty on December 8, 2012
© PA Photos
Wolfsburg secure their Bundesliga status with a 3-1 home win against Borussia Monchengladbach.

Wolfsburg have mathematically ascertained their Bundesliga status for next season with a 3-1 home win against Borussia Monchengladbach.

Dieter Hecking's side's now have 40 points from 31 matches, meaning that they cannot be caught by third-from-bottom Augsburg.

The visitors could have surged ahead as early as the second minute had Havard Nordtveit's shot not been saved by Diego Benaglio.

Minutes later Patrick Herrmann went close from close range before Peniel Kokou Mlapa had his attempt saved, as Monchengladbach dominated proceedings in the opening minutes.

However, Wolfsburg found their rhythm in the match, Maximilian Arnold, Ricardo Rodriguez and Diego all testing the visitors' defence.

Then in the 34th minute the hosts broke the deadlock as Arnold shot home from close range after being released by Diego.

Wolfsburg could have headed into the break with a bigger lead had Vieirinha, Ivica Olic and Naldo all taken their chances.

Those missed opportunities came back to haunt the hosts, as Mlapa shot home from inside the area after latching onto Juan Arango's pass to equalise for Monchengladbach.

However, Olic restored Wolfsburg's lead just after the hour mark, collecting Diego's through-ball before firing in from the left side of the box.

Diego secured the points for the home side with 15 minutes left on the clock when he found the target from a narrow angle on the right of the Monchengladbach box after being fed by Olic.

Wolfsburg's Diego celebrates after converting a penalty on December 8, 2012
Read Next:
Result: Wolfsburg sweep past Bremen
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000