Result: Bayern Munich storm into DFB-Pokal final

Bayern's Mario Gomez is congratulated by his team mates after scoring on December 8, 2012
© PA Photos
Mario Gomez nets a hat-trick in the space of six minutes as Bayern Munich cruise into the final of the DFB-Pokal with a comprehensive victory over Wolfsburg.

Mario Gomez bagged a late hat-trick in the space of six minutes as Bayern Munich thrashed Wolfsburg 6-1 to reach the final of the DFB-Pokal.

The hosts started on the front foot but failed to create anything of note until the 17th minute when Mario Mandzukic gave them the lead.

Arjen Robben raced clear of the Wolfsburg defence and crossed low for the Croatian to fire past his former club.

The away side almost hit back five minutes later when Manuel Neuer could only punch a clearance as far as Makoto Hasebe, but the Bayern keeper scrambled to his feet in time to stop the Japanese international's effort.

Bayern doubled their advantage in the 34th minute, Xherdan Shaqiri playing Robben in with a through-ball for the Dutchman to slot home past Diego Benaglio and give Wolfsburg a mountain to climb.

However, Diego gave them a lifeline right on the stroke of half time, finding the top corner with a superb strike from the edge of the box that left Neuer stranded.

Wolfsburg's hopes of staging a fightback were dashed early in the second period when Shaqiri got the goal he deserved, lashing a low strike into the bottom corner after being picked out by Robben.

It was easy street for Bayern after their third goal went in, and they extended their lead even further with 10 minutes left on the clock, Gomez turning in Shaqiri's pass from close range to make it 4-1.

Gomez netted his second of the evening two minutes later before completing an astonishing six-minute hat-track moments after that for a final score of 6-1.

Bayern Munich's Jerome Boateng celebrates scoring against FC Nuremberg on April 13, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Bayern 6-1 Wolfsburg - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20