MX23RW : Saturday, September 22 17:42:01

ATP reveal new time violation penalty

ATP reveal new time violation penalty
© PA Photos
The ATP announces alterations to the time penalty that is currently in place in the men's game.

The ATP have announced changes to the time violation penalty in the men's game.

Currently the rule is that the players receive a warning if they take too long between points. If the offence is committed for a second time then there is a point penalty for both the server and the receiver.

However, under the new guidelines, a warning will once again be initially issued.

The change will come after the second violation, where the penalty will be a fault for the server and a point for the receiver.

"There's been a lot of discussion about the amount of time taken between points," said ATP executive chairman and president Brad Drewett. "We believe this modification will give officials a useful tool and allow for more consistent enforcement of the current time violation rule."

The changes will take place at the start of 2013.

Share this article now:
Roger Federer
Read Next:
BBC agree ATP World Tour broadcast extension
>

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Select and display your favourite team's news and scores in this panel

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Select and display your favourite team's news and scores in this panel

Subscribe to our Newsletter


Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Select and display your favourite team's news and scores in this panel
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account