Hook refuses to dwell on missed chance

Hook refuses to dwell on missed chance

James Hook has refused to dwell on his 'missed' penalty after Wales narrowly lost out to South Africa in the opening match of their World Cup campaign.

The Springboks won the Pool D encounter 17-16 but it could have been very different had the officials not ruled out Hook's penalty effort.

The officials felt Hook's first half penalty had drifted wide of the posts but television replays appeared to show the ball falling just inside the right hand post.

"I felt it went over. But it is not something I am going to debate or dwell on," said Hook.

"It is one of those things. It wasn't given and we lost by a point, simple as that. It has gone now."

Wales' next match in the World Cup sees them take on Samoa on Sunday, September 18.

Written by

Share this article:
Subscribe to our newsletter

Get FREE daily news and in-depth previews for games from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football — straight to your inbox.

Subscribe