MX23RW : Tuesday, October 26 21:54:41| >> :60:2608:2608:

Gary Speed to be inducted into National Football Museum Hall of Fame

The National Football Museum announces that the late Gary Speed will be inducted into their Hall of Fame on Thursday.

The National Football Museum has announced that Gary Speed will be inducted into their Hall of Fame this week.

Speed, who died in 2011 aged 42, made 841 career appearances for five clubs, with 535 of them coming in the Premier League.

The Welshman turned out for Leeds United, Everton, Newcastle United, Bolton Wanderers and Sheffield United, as well as winning 85 caps for his national team.

Speed, who won the First Division title with Leeds in 1992, also went into management with the Blades and then Wales before his tragic death in November 2011.

Speed will be inducted on Thursday alongside Steven Gerrard, Billy Bonds, Frank Lampard, Charlie Roberts, Kelly Smith and Rachel Yankey, while Paralympian and ex-England CP player Alistair Patrick-Heselton will receive the Football For All award, sponsored by the Football Association.

The inductees were decided by Hall of Fame members including Sir Geoff Hurst, Gordon Banks, Sir Bobby Charlton, Peter Schmeichel, Roger Hunt, Kevin Keegan and Bryan Robson.

ID:307825: cacheID:307825:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:3665:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Liverpools Steven Gerrard (L) vies for the ball with Chelsea's Frank Lampard during their European Champions League semi final first leg football match on May 1, 2007
Read Next:
Gerrard, Lampard to be inducted into Hall of Fame

rhs 2.0
-(578:65) NO SAVED VALID SPORT!!!!:51:

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!