David Lynn: 'I should have played the Wyndham Championship'

David Lynn admits that skipping the Wyndham Championship to return to Britain was a mistake.

David Lynn has admitted that he made a mistake by choosing not to play in the Wyndham Championship last week.

The 38-year-old was invited to the competition after finishing second in the USPGA Championship but he rejected the opportunity and decided to return to Britain.

However, the decision ended his chances of qualifying for the Ryder Cup and he concedes that it was an error of judgement.

"In hindsight I made a mistake - I should have played last week," Lynn said. "But I think I can be forgiven because of where my head was at.

"I said I was going home. I was prepared for being out there for one week, not two, and I'm a bit like that when I get something in my head."

Lynn must now hope to be selected as one of Jose Maria Olazabal's wild card picks for the competition in September.

Darren Clarke
Read Next:
Olazabal names three Ryder Cup vice-captains
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account