Result: Kimi Raikkonen wins Australian Grand Prix

Result: Raikkonen wins Australian GP
© AP Photos
Kimi Raikkonen wins the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne this morning.

Kimi Raikkonen has won the Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park in Melbourne this morning.

The Finn claimed the top spot and will be joined on the podium by Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel in second and third respectively.

In the season's curtain-raiser, Raikkonen was pushed hard by Alonso but as the Spaniard's tyres faded in the final 10 laps, it ended as a relative cruise for eventual winner.

Vettel ended up 21 points behind Raikkonen with Felipe Massa finishing the race in fourth.

Results in full:
1. Raikkonen (Lotus)
2. Alonso (Ferrari)
3. Vettel (Red Bull)
4. Massa (Ferrari)
5. Hamilton (Mercedes)
6. Webber (Red Bull)
7. Sutil (Force India)
8. Di Resta (Force India)
9. Button (McLaren)
10. Grosjean (Lotus)
11. Perez (McLaren)
12. Vergne (Toro Rosso)
13. Gutierrez (Sauber)
14. Bottas (Williams)
15. Bianchi (Marussia)
16. Pic (Caterham)
17. Chilton (Marussia)
18. Van der Garde (Caterham)

Retired: Ricciardo (Toro Rosso), Rosberg (Mercedes), Maldonado (Williams)

Non-Starter: Hulkenberg (Sauber)

Sebastian Vettel in his team's pit on November 23, 2012
Read Next:
Vettel quickest again in second practice session
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account