The Dutch Football Association have insisted that Arjen Robben has been misquoted in the wake of comments that he made about diving yesterday.
However, in a statement, the governing body countered: "KNVB is unpleasantly surprised by publications in the media about the Dutch penalty in the match versus Mexico. Media have interpreted statements from Robben in a Dutch post match interview completely wrong.
"In a studio interview with Dutch broadcaster NOS, the forward stated that the decision of the referee to give a penalty in the second half of the game was perfectly right. However, in the same interview Robben referred to two situations earlier in the [first half], when he was brought down.
"The striker stated that in one of those situations he should have been granted a penalty, but that in the other case he was falling too easily."
Reports have suggested that Robben's words may have landed him a suspension from FIFA, with an announcement due to be made within the next 24 hours.